Connect with us

Education

Parents wake up to the fact that many of those who claim tolerance are the most intolerant of all!

Published

on

School Board Failures

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Jiggy Daily
Get Jiggy's FREE email newsletter with his latest insights, top stories, show prep and more delivered to your inbox.
Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Education

STEM Day is 11/8: No. 1 STEAM Franchise Launches Book Series, Stresses Importance of STEM in Schools – Interview and Review Opportunity for Media

Published

on

By

World’s No. 1 STEAM Program Launches New STEM/STEAM Book Series 

New Challenge Island chapter book series perfect for fans of The Magic School Bus and Magic Tree House, but with a spectacular, hands-on STEM/STEAM twist!

Atlanta, GA, November 5, 2021 — With 120 franchise locations and a cumulative audience of 5 million children and thousands of schools, Challenge Island has been providing kids with award-winning STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math) learning adventures through field trips, afterschool enrichment classes, summer camps, scout workshops and family nights for almost two decades. On National Stem Day (Nov. 8), the magic of the world’s No. 1 STEAM program will combine with the magic of reading to launch the first book in the Challenge Island STEAM book series.

The Bridge to Sharktooth Island: A Challenge Island STEAM Adventure (West Margin Press) is written by award-winning educator Sharon Duke Estroff M.A.T. (founder and CEO of Challenge Island and author of Can I Have a Cell Phone for Hanukkah?, Penguin Random House); and award-winning author Joel Ross (Alley and Rex, Simon & Schuster; Fog Diver, HarperCollins; Beast & Crown, HarperCollins); and illustrated by Monica de Rivas (The Grumbles, Hatchette; Hello, Future Me, Scholastic; Big Bad Wolfsville, HarperCollins).

The Bridge to Sharktooth Island artfully intertwines action-packed fantasy with real-life engineering as cautious Daniel, his brave cousin Joy and their studious new friend Kimani find themselves suddenly stranded on a mysterious island surrounded by sharks. The kids find clues hidden around the island and realize that if they want to escape, they’ll have to work together to build the strongest bridge they can to get to safety! The characters return in the back of the book, where they speak directly and intimately to the reader, sharing engineering tidbits learned during their adventure, cool shark facts from Kimani’s notebook, and fun STEAM activities kids can do at home, including building a bridge, mixing up a blue slime ocean and designing ferocious paper sharks.

Making the Challenge Island book series even more groundbreaking is the fact that readers can experience the same STEAM adventures as the characters in the story in real life, through one of Challenge Island’s 120 franchise locations. For example, on National STEM Day, Stephanie Edwards, owner of Challenge Island Gilbert, AZ, will be running a Bridge to Sharktooth Island book launch celebration and field trip for 350 6th grade students at the American Leadership Academy. Edwards worked closely with the charter school’s leadership to create an unforgettable engineering adventure complete with balloon arches in the gymnasium, a professional photographer and a copy of The Bridge to Sharktooth Island for every student.

“As an educator, an author, a mom, and the creator of the Challenge Island program and curriculum, the release of the first book in the Challenge Island book series is among the proudest moments of my entire career,” says Sharon Duke Estroff, founder and CEO of Challenge Island Global. “But more importantly, I truly believe that this is exactly what kids need in this moment in time. What better way to reignite a child’s love of learning than by turning a beloved STEAM enrichment program into a fantastical new book series? And — for the millions more children who will first come to know Challenge Island inside the pages of this book — to see that magical story come to life, not only in their imaginations, but in the real world!”

To learn more about Challenge Island’s book-related programs, please visit https://challenge-island.com/.

The Bridge to Sharktooth Island: A Challenge Island STEAM Adventure
Release Date: November 2, 2021
Publisher: West Margin Press
ISBN-10: ‎ 1513289535
ISBN-13: ‎ 978-1513289533
Available from Amazon.com, BarnesandNoble.com, Target.com, Walmart.com and everywhere books are sold

###

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Jiggy Daily
Get Jiggy's FREE email newsletter with his latest insights, top stories, show prep and more delivered to your inbox.
Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.
Continue Reading

Education

Ms. Bo Lebo

Published

on

By

Trained to deal with trauma (Gabor Mate training), working in childhood remediation in core studies, and using new research in learning, recovery and in achievement, Bo Lebo is the Director of New Education Options, a California nonprofit public benefit educational corporation working with at risk students and community health using science and arts as a medium to empower students, teachers, parents and schools. Kids First So Cal is becoming a Science and Technology Center and has been a successful childcare and tutoring center. With a goal to reach for the stars and build on innate natural resilience, at NEO in Sherman Oaks, and at the Studio in Woodland Hills, we are part of the infrastructure that helps families, workers, and learners to grow up with a sense of compentency. Using state, national, and local guidelines we continue helping children to make small mistakes joyously that can build self-esteem and daily restore a sense of well being through core literacy skills as a means to understanding, comprehension, and present and future capacity.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Jiggy Daily
Get Jiggy's FREE email newsletter with his latest insights, top stories, show prep and more delivered to your inbox.
Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.
Continue Reading

Education

Back-to-School: Moms Go Wild

Published

on

By

Mandy Arioto

TOPIC: Back-to-School: Moms Go Wild

Over the next couple of weeks millions of children head back into the classroom for in-person learning this fall—much to the excited relief of moms everywhere. This video expresses perfectly what many moms will be feeling: a bit of freedom.

Social media hashtags for #FirstDayofSchool and #BackToSchool are already garnering millions of pictures and comments, do not let the joy of independence—both yours and your children be ruined by anxiety over the “delta variant.”

“It’s time to embrace a bit of normalcy for our kids and be excited about in-person learning and their first day of school. After all we have been through going back to school should be celebrated.” Mandy Arioto, CEO/President of Mothers of Pre-Schoolers (MOPS).

Mom’s have shouldered a lot of the burden of in-home learning through the pandemic up’s and down’s. Last summer economists may have hinted at a “SHE-session” when more than 13 million women stopped working to manage their children and families. Albeit we led what amounted to a herculean effort of the largest homeschooling initiative undertaken. Hey, does that qualify for a Guinness Book of World Records achievement? If not, it sure feels like we reached a pinnacle.

It’s time to recharge your batteries Mom—and MOPs has some tips for you.

Q & A Discussion:

  • What recommendations do you have for making back-to-school a fun family-bonding moment with children?
  • Any tips on re-using school supplies as these items have gotten more expensive this year than last time kids were in the classroom?
  • Are moms anticipating mom guilt as they send their kids back to school – or do you think it’s going to be party time for millions of moms?
  • Do you have any advice for anxious moms worrying about keeping their kid safe from Covid?
  • Why is in-classroom learning so important for children and moms?
  • MOPS annual event MomCON 2021 is happening Sept. 9-11, please share with us what is happening there for Moms.

GUEST: Mandy Arioto, President and CEO of MOPS International and is widely known for her unique takes on parenting, relationships, spiritual and cultural issues.

MOPS International: MOPS influences millions of moms through thousands of groups internationally. Mandy serves as the voice of one of the most influential parenting organizations in the U.S. and around the world. Visit the website to learn more.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Jiggy Daily
Get Jiggy's FREE email newsletter with his latest insights, top stories, show prep and more delivered to your inbox.
Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.
Continue Reading

Trending

Kyplex Cloud Security Seal - Click for Verification
%d bloggers like this: