Marla Conn 1/5/2020



Marla Conn

THE READING HOUSE (Random House Children’s Books | On sale January 5, 2021 | Ages 4–8) is a new learn-to-read program developed by reading and literacy specialist Marla Conn.

Designed with a clear, step-by-step method and recurring characters and stories, the books teach essential reading concepts to children ages 4–8 in a fun, appealing, and engaging format. Perfect for at-home or in-classroom learning, this series proves that learning to read can be fun.

And the included instruction guide means any parent or teacher can ensure success wherever they are! Consisting of 12 boxed sets all releasing in 2021, The Reading House program guides children from letter recognition to phonemic awareness all the way to independent reading.

Each boxed set contains 12 leveled storybooks, an activity sheet, a teaching guide, and a progress sticker sheet. The storybooks use recurring characters and stories, helping kids recognize words and understand meaning through context clues and familiarity.

In an interview, Marla can discuss:

  • Each set includes teaching guides and activity sheets for parents to use and sticker sheets for children as rewards. Helpful for parents AND encouraging for kids!
  • What sets THE READING HOUSE apart from other early readers is that the series feature recurring fun and charming characters and stories, which help children recognize and understand meaning through context clues and familiarity.
  • THE READING HOUSE is a compelling product with competitive price! Category bestseller Bob Books from Scholastic retails for $17.99. Our series sells at $14.99 and is more consumer friendly.
  • Marla Conn is really an EXPERT in the field! She is a reading and literary specialist with a Master’s of Science in Elementary Education and Reading. She has over 27 years of experience as an educational consultant and is the creator of the Dear Dragon Developing Readers, and Read-Ability, an educational consulting company.

The many unique features of THE READING HOUSE program, along with kid-friendly graphics, will help guide parents and educators as more parents take up the task of teaching young children at home and more teachers teach students through online classrooms.


The Reading House Sets 1–5 (on sale January 5, 2021) include:

Set 1: Letter Recognition A–L

Set 2: Letter Recognition M–Z, which help young readers identify lower- and upper-case letters and identify beginning sounds

Set 3: Introduction to Short Vowel Sounds

Set 4: Short Vowel Clusters and Sight Words

Set 5: Short Vowels and Reading for Fluency, which introduce children to short vowels sounds, clusters, and sight words, as well as short vowel word families.

THE READING HOUSE Sets 6–8 and 9–12 will publish in March and round out the program.

ABOUT THE TALENT: Marla Conn is a reading and literary specialist with a Masters of Science in elementary education and reading. She has worked with HarperCollins, Simon & Schuster, Penguin Random House, and many others, and is the creator of Dear Dragon Developing Readers, based on the work of Margaret Hillert. These leveled readers enable emergent readers to build early literacy skills in decoding, fluency, and reading comprehension.

Don't miss out!
Subscribe To Jiggy Daily
Get Jiggy's FREE email newsletter with his latest insights, top stories, show prep and more delivered to your inbox.
Invalid email address
Give it a try. You can unsubscribe at any time.